2023 Greece Rally: A Thrilling Return to the WRC

The 2023 Greece Rally, also known as the EKO Acropolis Rally Greece 2023, marked the 67th running of this iconic event. Held from September 7 to September 10, 2023, it was the tenth round of the 2023 World Rally Championship (WRC), World Rally Championship-2, and World Rally Championship-3. Additionally, it served as the final round of the 2023 Junior World Rally Championship. The event was based in Lamia, Central Greece, and featured fifteen special stages covering a competitive distance of 307.69 km (191.19 mi).

Key Participants and Winners

The following are some of the most notable participants and winners of the 2023 Greece Rally:

Rally1 Entries:

  • Kalle Rovanperä and Jonne Halttunen: Winners, Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT
    Thierry Neuville and Martijn Wydaeghe: Defending champions, Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT
  • Sébastien Ogier and Vincent Landais: Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT
  • Esapekka Lappi and Janne Ferm: Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT
  • Ott Tänak and Martin Järveoja: M-Sport Ford WRT

Rally2 Entries:

  • Andreas Mikkelsen and Torstein Eriksen: WRC-2 Winners, Škoda Fabia RS Rally2
  • Yohan Rossel and Arnaud Dunand: Citroën C3 Rally2
  • Oliver Solberg and Elliott Edmondson: Škoda Fabia RS Rally2
  • Gus Greensmith and Jonas Andersson: Škoda Fabia RS Rally2
  • Kajetan Kajetanowicz and Maciej Szczepaniak: Škoda Fabia RS Rally2

Rally3 and Junior Entries:

  • Diego Dominguez Jr. and Rogelio Peñate: WRC-3 Winners, Ford Fiesta Rally3
  • William Creighton and Liam Regan: Junior WRC Champions, Ford Fiesta Rally3

Highlights of the 2023 Greece Rally

The rally saw intense competition and dramatic changes in standings. Thierry Neuville and Martijn Wydaeghe entered as defending champions, but it was Kalle Rovanperä and Jonne Halttunen who emerged victorious, securing their third win of the season. Their triumph also led Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT to the manufacturer’s title.

In the WRC-2 category, Andreas Mikkelsen and Torstein Eriksen delivered a stellar performance, clinching the top spot in their Škoda Fabia RS Rally2. Diego Dominguez Jr. and Rogelio Peñate successfully defended their titles in the WRC-3 category and also won the junior class. The Irish crew of William Creighton and Liam Regan were crowned the 2023 Junior Rally Champions.

Welcome Greece Rally Back!

The 2023 Greece Rally not only highlighted the skill and determination of the world’s best rally drivers but also showcased the challenging and diverse terrains of Central Greece. With Lamia providing a scenic and strategic base, the rally offered a thrilling spectacle for fans and participants alike. The event’s successful return to the WRC calendar reaffirmed its status as one of the most demanding and exciting rallies in the world.